# ASME Heat Transfer Division Newsletter

Q1 2025

#### **INSIDE**

## Thank you for attending SHTC 24!

#### Successful SHTC 24!

Conference organizers thank all participants and attendees

#### Presentation Only Abstract submissions open for SHTC 25!

Use the QR code or this link



#### **SHTC 2024 Sponsors**

SHTC Sponsors engaged with the community at SHTC

#### SHTC 2024 Awardees

Celebrating and recognizing all awardees from SHTC 24!

## SHTC 2024 Student Activities

Students get to network, present and explore career options

## ASME HTD Outreach Committee

Rydge Mulford\* (Chair) and Nehal Jajal

\*rmulford1@udayton.edu

On behalf of all of the Topic Organizers and Session Chairs, we express gratitude to all who helped with the organization of the 2024 Summer Heat Transfer Conference. Further, we thank those who attended the conference. The work of the short course providers, the invited participants in the Richard Goldstein Memorial Symposium, the members of the Career Panel, the Max Jakob lecturer, the Donald Q. Kern lecturer, and the conference keynote speaker are deeply appreciated. Finally, we thank all who presented their research at the conference. We look forward to another great conference in 2025 in Westminster, CO from July 8-10. Authors can submit their presentation only abstracts by March 5th, 2024.



Dr. Zhuomin Zhang Conference co-chair



Dr. Brent Webb Conference co-chair

# SHTC 2024 Sponsors

SHTC 2024 attracted a diverse group of sponsors, including Los Alamos National Laboratory, A. James Clark School of Engineering, Carrier, The University of Minnesota Department of Mechanical Engineering, NREL and Boeing. Sponsors hosted booths in the event space, allowing them to engage with the community. Dr. Arun Muley, from Boeing, highlighted that the Boeing booth "generated tremendous traffic and great interest and curiosity for use of AM for thermal management application, especially from students attending the conference". SHTC 2025 is currently recruiting sponsors for the conference in Westminster, CO.



### SHTC 2024 Awardees

**Max Jakob Award** was awarded to Professor Walter Grassi, DESTEC School of Engineering, University of Pisa, Italy.

**Donald Q. Kern Award** was awarded to Dr. Satwindar Sadhal, Professor of Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering and Ophthalmology at University of Southern California. (pictured in the center)

**Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator in Heat Transfer** was awarded to Dr. David Warsinger, Assistant Professor at Purdue University, affiliated with Mechanical Engineering and the Birck Nanotechnology Center and Herrick Labs. (pictured fourth from the right)

The **ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Awardees** across the three following categories are listed below,

**Science** - Dr. John C. Bischof, Medtronic, Bakken Endowed Chair in Engineering in Medicine, the Distinguished McKnight University Professor in the Departments of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering, and the inaugural Carl and Janet Kuhrmeyer Chair in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Minnesota. (pictured on left)

**Art** - Dr. Srinivas Garimella, Hightower Chair in Engineering and Director of the Sustainable Thermal Systems Laboratory at Georgia Institute of Technology. (pictured second from right)

**General** - Dr. Milind A. Jog, Professor and Associate Head in the Department of Mechanical & Materials Engineering at the University of Cincinnati. (pictured fourth from left)

**James S. Harry Potter Gold Medal** was awarded to Dr. Efstathios E. Michaelides, Tex Moncrief Chair of Engineering at Texas Christian University. (pictured third from right)

**George Westinghouse Silver Medal** was awarded to Dr. David R. Noble, Senior Program Manager for the Gas Turbine R&D at EPRI.

**McDonald Mentoring Award** was awarded to Dr. Xiulin Ruan, Professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering and Birck Nanotechnology Center at Purdue University. (pictured second from left)

#### **Student Events at SHTC24**

The future of the Heat Transfer Division relies on a strong body of active student members. As such, SHTC 2024 focused on improving the student conference experience through several efforts.

The Heat Transfer Division subsidized the cost of student registration, reducing the out-of-pocket cost to \$90 per student. These funds provided an investment in the future of the Heat Transfer Division and yielded an appreciable impact on student attendance at the conference.

Once at the conference, students had the opportunity to engage in sessions and workshops. A "new comer" meeting was held on the first morning of the conference where students received advice regarding conference participation and success. Students were encouraged to attend a K committee meeting at the conference. Likewise, students attended a career seminar with participants from industry, academia and national labs. Finally, students competed in a poster session with cash prizes awarded to first and second place.

